The Agora: Political Science Undergraduate Journal

Letter from the Editorial Board

"When people talk of the freedom of writing, speaking or thinking I cannot choose but laugh. No such thing ever existed. No such thing now exists; but I hope it will exist. But it must be hundreds of years after you and I shall write and speak no more." - John Adams

As this quote so eloquently reminds us, without the respectively few who are courageous enough to think, and then to speak and write their opinions, free speech cannot exist. It is for those few that this journal was created. In this third volume of *The Agora*, we are proud to bring you a variety of works on a wide range of topics, all of which contribute to scholarly discussion in the field of Political Science.

We would like to thank the many people who made this issue possible, including the many great writers that submitted papers to *The Agora*. Without your passion and courage, this journal would not exist. Whether or not your paper was eventually accepted, taking on the challenge of opening one's writing up to outside criticism and then incorporating the suggestions of others into one's work takes an immense amount of personal strength and a commitment to contributing to the academic discussion that is ongoing in the field of Political Science. In addition, we would like to thank Leah Vanderjagt and the University of Alberta libraries, who provide us constant support and continue to host *The Agora* on their servers. Finally, we would like to thank the Political Science Department and the many professors who have expressed support for the journal and allowed us to speak in their classes. We look forward to working with you for years to come and we hope you enjoy this issue of *The Agora*.

The Agora Editorial Board,

Tara Audel, Victor Benitez, Neekoo Collett, Ashley Dallinger-Williams, Mandi Deren-Dubé, Kevin Pinkoski, Justin Selner, and Tim Yu.

Morai Dere Dabé Sin Pias Vona Auchl 53 at nollett