The Role of Special Collections in Climate Change Movements

Auteurs-es

  • Danielle Deschamps University of Alberta
  • Michaela Morrow University of Alberta

DOI :

https://doi.org/10.29173/pathfinder70

Mots-clés :

climate change, special collections, social movements, climate crisis, environmental movements

Résumé

This presentation examines the role that special collections can play in documenting climate change literature over the course of history. We chose to focus on artist books in particular due to their unique trait as a format found almost exclusively within special collections libraries. We connect artist books to other collections within Bruce Peel Special Collections to create a narrative of climate change across cultures, time, and social movements. This narrative focuses on the past, present, and future of climate change, showcasing how special collections libraries provide new perspectives on how we should view the role we have to play in climate change. We believe the creation of this narrative shows how collecting literature and archives is an active form of combatting climate misinformation. In particular, we believe connecting this narrative through artist books is a way to challenge dominant narratives due to the role of artist books in counterculture and alternate ways of viewing knowledge.

Téléchargements

Publié-e

2023-09-08

Comment citer

Deschamps, D., & Morrow, M. (2023). The Role of Special Collections in Climate Change Movements. Pathfinder: A Canadian Journal for Information Science Students and Early Career Professionals, 4(1), 216–222. https://doi.org/10.29173/pathfinder70

Numéro

Vol. 4 No. 1 (2023): Regular Issue

Rubrique

FIP Extended Abstracts

Licence

© Danielle Deschamps, Michaela Morrow 2023

Licence Creative Commons

Cette œuvre est protégée sous licence Creative Commons Attribution - Partage dans les Mêmes Conditions 4.0 International.

Authors retain all copyright for their work published by Pathfinder. The specific copyright information for each work is included with the work itself. Pathfinder retains the right of first publication. Use and reproduction rights of any articles or abstracts on the Pathfinder website are granted for individual, non-commercial, and educational purposes only, and for electronic materials if properly cited. Otherwise, permission must be obtained from Pathfinder or the authors.

Our full copyright terms can be found in Section 4 of our Author's Agreement.

All other materials are covered by a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).